Essay: “Ronack”

I think it’s fair to say that #Gamergate has changed tremendously over its existence. What started as a simple question of “Yeah, but, was there a conflict-of-interest” turned in to massive movement involving all kinds of people with all kinds of goals of their own. I’ve seen it all happen. Though, at first, I wasn’t quite as enthusiastic about it as I am today. All I knew at first was that it was all about an ex-boyfriend airing his dirty laundry, which was more than enough for me to stay out of it. But then I began to see all of these questions about her and several journalists. What happened between them, and did they give her any coverage because of their friendship? From there on out things started to snowball unlike anything I’ve ever seen before. People and websites that I used to trust had become something else in my eyes. Something worse, because of the way they were behaving themselves. And it wasn’t just journalists, websites and content creators. No, I saw some of my online friends behave in ways that made me lose a lot of respect for them. So, one part of what #Gamergate means to me is a loss of the Internet I once thought to know, and a quest for a new and improved corner of the Internet.

Another aspect of what it means to me is a demand for ethics and standards. We believed in these journalists and developers to be more than what we’ve come to expect from the world outside of our community. Yes, we knew that they had to keep the business side in mind, but we at least expected them to stay true to their community. However, large chunks of the gaming industry seem to be rotten. And that’s something that I want to see fixed, even if it means these chunks have to be outright removed. Though, I wish that won’t have to be the case.

For me, though, the most important part of what #Gamergate means is that it’s a fight against bullies. I’ve been the victim of bullying throughout most of my school career. It’s only in the final three years that I was truly free from it. I’ve seen it happen first hand, and I know perfectly well just how horrible it can make people feel. There’s too many stories out there of people that have been bullied in to committing suicide, for example. Over the passed few weeks we’ve heard people speak up about how things work in the gaming industry, and what’s been happening to them because of #Gamergate. People are getting fired because their bosses have been harassed, journalists (and even regular people) are getting threatened or doxxed for daring to speak the truth about #Gamergate, developers are getting blacklisted because they want to do things their way and many more stories like these. So, for me, #Gamergate also means a fight against bullying and a fight to make sure that current and future victims land on their feet.

Ronack

Leave a Reply

